What are you good at remembering?

I remember jokes and who said them and who laughed. I remember eating sandwiches in class and who I shared them with. I remember walking in the rain and not caring if I get wet because I’m too happy. I remember nights when I get home too late because I lost track of time. I remember reading until the sun rises and everyone in our house starts waking up. I remember opening my eyes and seeing my mama cooking and the kitchen and falling right back to sleep in spite of my nightmares. I remember staying up all night telling stories, singing and laughing. I remember seeing a baby on the jeep, in malls and in streets and feeling so happy when they smile at me. I remember random things but still I’m happy.

Leave a Reply

